Ricky Warwick. 17.11.16. The Riverside

wp_20161117_21_30_40_pro

I saw my first Ricky Warwick show in 2010, only going because a friend had resorted to pleading after I had initially said no.

I said it a few weeks ago; I can be prejudice.  It’s weaknesses that I’m aware of and that I’m trying to do something about.

Warwick’s show remains one of the most exciting shows I’ve been to.

His second song was a cover of ‘Cocaine Blues’, a performance so powerful that it left a memory that has stayed with me, vividly.

Here was a man, with a guitar, playing a song like it was the last thing he’d ever do.  100% commitment, focus and belief.

I’ve mentioned it in passing before, but there is a fine line between the best punk and the best soul; both forms of music entice the performer to speak their truth and hide nothing.

Soul is quieter and slower.  Punk is, well, louder and faster.  They’re the only differences.

Transfixed, I knew that I wanted to be able to hide nothing back.

I wanted to be like Ricky..

I wanted his anger, his passion, his confidence.

Most of all I wanted to figure out what it was that I wanted to say.

I wanted to figure out which truths were as important to me, as Warwick’s truths were to him; I wanted to figure our what I was hiding and shout about those as well.

After the show I remember writing two things down;

  • I wanted to find something to say (then say it with intensity)
  • I  wanted to stop letting my prejudices affect my growth.

Since 2010 I’ve seen Warwick in various forms (solo, the Fighting Hearts, Thin Lizzy, Black Star Riders) many times.

I’m not sure how much progress I’ve made on each bullet point, but I do know that every time Warwick is on stage he has the same intensity and commitment as he did that first time I saw him.

These strengths remind me that I still have a lot to do.

Between him and Jesse Malin I’ve never had better teachers.

Support: Vice Squad

 

Leave a Reply

